Yale Drama Series

Yale University Press and Yale Repertory Theatre are joining forces in a new venture to support emerging playwrights. They will jointly sponsor a major new playwriting competition, The Yale Drama Series. The winner of the annual competition will be awarded the David C. Horn Prize of $10,000, publication of his/her manuscript by Yale University Press, and a staged reading at Yale Rep. In addition, Yale Rep may exercise its right to option the play for a professional production. The Yale Drama Series and David C. Horn Prize are funded by generous support from the David Charles Horn Foundation.

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Edward Albee serves as first judge of The Yale Drama Series. His appointment extends two years; he will select winners for the 2006 and 2007 competitions. Future judges of the series will include both distinguished playwrights and directors.

Submissions for the 2007 Competition must be postmarked no earlier than July 15, 2006 and no later than August 15, 2006. See the Guidelines for Submission for precise information regarding your entry.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.